[Wolves] Advice Please

Andy Jewell Andy.Jewell at sysmicro.co.uk
Fri Jan 14 11:12:49 UTC 2011

Hi Mo,

I've had to deal with something similar - only the other way round. Several of our customers host web-sites, and as the IP Address owner, we got a take-down notice last year. In the event, we liaised with our customer to remove the content in question.

What we received was a threat to serve notice of prosecution for libel/slander (I'm not suggesting you go that heavy right away unless your client wants to do that, and if you do, see a lawyer first!). A simple e-mail explaining your gripe, and stating exactly what needs to be done, and a reasonable deadline within which to do it, sent to the abude email address. Follow it up with a phone-call to the registered phone number in the WHOIS output.

If the soft approach fails, then see a lawyer and escalate from there!

Another pressure point you can push on if necessary is the ISP of the hosting company, if absolutely necessary.

Andy D'Arcy Jewell
SysMicro Linux Support

T:  +44 (0) 844 991 8804
M: +44 (0) 7961 605631
F:  +44 (0) 844 357 7020
E:  andy.jewell at sysmicro.co.uk
W: www.sysmicro.co.uk

SysMicro named CRN’s Editor’s Choice for Emerging Business of the Year 2009, recognising SysMicro for our considerable growth, specifically in Enterprise Solutions.
From: wolves-bounces at mailman.lug.org.uk [wolves-bounces at mailman.lug.org.uk] on behalf of Ron Wellsted [ron at wellsted.org.uk]
Sent: 14 January 2011 10:47
To: Wolverhampton Linux User Group
Subject: Re: [Wolves] Advice Please

Hash: SHA1

On 14/01/11 10:30, Mo Awkati wrote:
> Hiya Guys
> I have a client who wants a web site that he is not responsible for but
> is all about his business and
> it gives all his details including his home address. The website does
> not include any other business! I used WHOIS and found out who is the
> domain holder and it happens to be a web hosting company up north.
> What is the best way to go about getting them to take it down or at
> least remove his details?
> Thanks
> Mo
Hi Mo,

First of all the usual disclaimer, IANAL.

It all depends, is it a case of cyber-squatting or is it a disgruntled
customer/ex-employee/ex-business partner?

If cyber-squatting and it is a .uk domain try contacting the hosting
company or Nominet.  For a .com/.org, try the hosting company, they may
be helpful.

If any of the latter, try contacting the hosting company but it will
probably require the use of a solicitor (under the defamation laws).

If the details are on blog, try contacting the owner of the blog and ask
them to redact the details.  If they are unwilling, escalate the problem
to the hosting company.

- --
Ron Wellsted
ron at wellsted.org.uk http://www.wellsted.org.uk
N 52.567623, W 2.136111 Linux Counter No. 202120
Ekiga: 645022
Version: GnuPG v1.4.10 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/


Wolves LUG mailing list
Homepage: http://www.wolveslug.org.uk/
Mailing list: Wolves at mailman.lug.org.uk
Mailing list home: https://mailman.lug.org.uk/mailman/listinfo/wolves

More information about the Wolves mailing list