[Gllug] Domain Registery of America

Jason Clifford jason at ukpost.com
Tue Aug 31 10:27:46 UTC 2004

On Tue, 31 Aug 2004, NorthLondon John wrote:

> I've just received a "Domain Name Expiration Notice" by snail mail from 
> the "Domain Registry of America" for a domain registered with UKFSN.
> It's very official-looking, but obviously a scam. I did a quick google 
> and came up with:

It is a scam however it's not an illegal one.

They no longer word the "notices" to give the impression that you are 
already their customer - it's obvious in the wording that they want you to 
switch to their overprices "service".

> They give an address in London: 56 Gloucester Rd, suite 526, sw7 4ub.
> Has anyone heard of these people before? Had any dealings? Taken any 
> action?

It used to be that they included a prepaid envelope however they have 
stopped doing that now so I recommend you just throw the notice, etc away.

The one of these scams to be very watchful of is the one operated by "EU 
Registry Services". This one is a criminal scam which Cambridge police 
seem to be collecting "evidence" on.

The general advise for these things is the same for all of them - if you 
receive a domain renewal notice from any company that is not the company 
you registered the domain through either ignore it or contact the company 
the domain is registered with. Never sign and return such a document. 

Jason Clifford
UKFSN.ORG		Finance Free Software while you surf the 'net
http://www.ukfsn.org/	   ADSL Broadband from just £22.50 / month 

Gllug mailing list  -  Gllug at gllug.org.uk

More information about the GLLUG mailing list