[Klug-general] [ot] website blacklisted

Peter Apps peter at sheppey.free-online.co.uk
Sun Feb 5 12:23:18 UTC 2012


I found it difficult even setting up a Facebook account. It turned out the 
problem was because of my surname - Apps. I tried setting up a page and it was 
removed warning me not contravene their rules again.

I still don't know what the problem was and I was even planning an advertising 
campaign on Facebook.

I just found them extremely unhelpful and I used Google Ads instead. 


On Sun 05 Feb 2012 11:44:38 James Morris wrote:
> Hello,
> Just wondering if anyone has any experience with this. Links to my
> site on Facebook are classified as malicious by Facebook's "link shim"
> mentioning surbl.org. Inputting my domain name into the surbl.org
> checker says it is blacklisted and I should submit a removal request.
> I feel really reluctant to do so. They want my contact details, full
> address and telephone number, email headers for 'typical messages that
> advertise my site' sent from my sites email address
> (james at jwm-art.net) (which is subscribed to a number of development
> lists and arts lists), and for me to add a page to my site detailing
> my policy regarding advertising using unsolicited emails.
> All this over http and without any mention of their privacy policy.
> There doesn't seem to be any other way of contacting them to discuss
> the problem without providing all this data. They have a moderated
> 'discuss' list but my subscription request as far as I know has been
> ignored.
> It's making me really cross. Seems like there's nothing that can be
> done without submitting to them.
> Cheers,
> James.
> _______________________________________________
> Kent mailing list
> Kent at mailman.lug.org.uk
> https://mailman.lug.org.uk/mailman/listinfo/kent

More information about the Kent mailing list